Retailer & Marketplace · vs · Retailer & Marketplace
Academy Sports + Outdoors vs Frasers Group
Structured technology and market comparison · 2026
Direct Feature Comparison
Academy Sports + Outdoors · vs · Frasers GroupUS sporting goods retailer with omnichannel commerce and loyalty ecosystem.
UK retail group selling sports and fashion goods.
Comparison Analysis
What is the main difference between Academy Sports + Outdoors and Frasers Group?
When comparing Academy Sports + Outdoors and Frasers Group, both platforms operate within the Retailer & Marketplace ecosystem. Academy Sports + Outdoors is positioned as US sporting goods retailer with omnichannel commerce and loyalty ecosystem, whereas Frasers Group focuses on UK retail group selling sports and fashion goods. Decision-makers evaluate both solutions when orchestrating their commercial monetization and technology stack.
What are the top alternatives to Academy Sports + Outdoors and Frasers Group?
When evaluating Academy Sports + Outdoors and Frasers Group, enterprise buyers also consider other platforms in Retailer & Marketplace. You can discover the full competitive landscape and evaluate other alternatives by viewing their respective footprint profiles on Polaris7.
Market Signals
Recent Market Signals & Activity: Academy Sports + Outdoors vs Frasers Group
Documented market movements, strategic partnerships, product releases, and regulatory developments mapped across Polaris7.
Academy Sports + Outdoors
Recent Signals
- ·SEC APIfinancials
8-K Financial Filing Analysis for Academy Sports + Outdoors (2026-09-09)
On September 9, 2026, Academy Sports and Outdoors, Inc. filed a Form 8-K to furnish its financial results for the second quarter ended August 1, 2026. Under Item 2.02 and Item 7.01, the company announced the issuance of its quarterly earnings press release and published its accompanying Second Quarter 2026 Earnings Presentation on its investor relations website. The filing serves as the official regulatory mechanism to make the quarterly performance metrics and management disclosures publicly available to market participants.
- Furnished financial results for the second fiscal quarter ended August 1, 2026 via press release (Exhibit 99.1).
- Released the Second Quarter 2026 Earnings Presentation to the corporate investor relations portal (Exhibit 99.2).
- Filed under Items 2.02 and 7.01, signed by Executive Vice President, Chief Legal Officer and Corporate Secretary Brandy Treadway.
- ·SEC APIfinancials
10-Q Financial Filing Analysis for Academy Sports + Outdoors (2026-09-09)
Academy Sports and Outdoors, Inc. filed its Form 10-Q for the second quarter ended August 1, 2026, reporting net sales of $1.65 billion, a 3.0% increase year-over-year, driven by strength in sports, recreation, and outdoor categories, alongside a 14.1% increase in e-commerce sales. Gross margin expanded 440 basis points to 40.4%, bolstered by $83.7 million in one-time IEEPA tariff refunds recorded as a reduction to cost of goods sold, partially offset by a $72.2 million remittance to a third-party buyer recorded in other expense. Net income reached $137.9 million ($2.17 diluted EPS), compared to $125.4 million ($1.85 diluted EPS) in Q2 2025. During the quarter, the company completed a debt refinancing by issuing $500 million of 5.875% Senior Secured Notes due 2031 and amending its $1.0 billion ABL Facility to extend maturity through May 2031, using the proceeds to fully redeem its 6.00% 2020 Notes and prepay its outstanding Term Loan. Academy also continued its capital return strategy, repurchasing 1.61 million shares for $82.9 million and declaring a quarterly dividend of $0.15 per share.
- Q2 2026 net sales rose 3.0% year-over-year to $1.65 billion with e-commerce growing 14.1%, while net income increased 9.9% to $137.9 million ($2.17 diluted EPS).
- Issued $500.0 million in 5.875% Senior Secured Notes due May 2031 and extended the $1.0 billion ABL Facility to 2031 to fully refinance the 2020 Notes and prepay the remaining Term Loan balance.
- Repurchased 1,608,528 shares of common stock for $82.9 million in Q2 ($182.1 million YTD), leaving $256.1 million authorized under the 2024 Share Repurchase Program.
- ·Academy Sports + Outdoors
Q1 2026 Earnings Presentation
Academy Sports + Outdoors released its Q1 2026 earnings presentation, replacing the previous Analyst Day Presentation.
Frasers Group
Recent Signals
- ·Retail-NewsE-Commerce
Harvey Nichols relaunches online shop after Frasers takeover
Harvey Nichols has relaunched its online shop less than a month after being acquired by Frasers Group. The website, previously shut down during the transition, is now operated by Frasers Group Trading Limited. The relaunch includes the promotion of Frasers Plus loyalty program, offering interest-free installments. The takeover, completed on August 13, 2026, included six UK department stores, online operations, and international franchises, with over 1,000 employees transferred. Unsecured creditors, including suppliers, face significant losses, with claims of £270.5 million potentially recovering less than 15 pence per pound. The new owner faces the challenge of stabilizing supplier relationships, reducing costs, and integrating Harvey Nichols into its luxury portfolio without losing its distinct brand identity.
- Harvey Nichols relaunched its online shop in September 2026, operated by Frasers Group Trading Limited.
- The acquisition by Frasers Group closed on August 13, 2026, via a pre-pack administration.
- The deal included six UK department stores, online operations, and international franchise agreements.
- ·Retail-NewsM&A
Frasers Acquires Harvey Nichols from Insolvency
Frasers Group completed a pre-pack acquisition of Harvey Nichols on 13 August 2026, buying six UK department stores (Knightsbridge, Manchester, Birmingham, Bristol, Leeds, Edinburgh), the online business, inventory, international franchise agreements and more than 1,000 employees. The online shop was temporarily taken offline while Frasers integrates IT, stock and processes; customers were advised that refunds and gift vouchers issued before the sale must be claimed from the insolvency administrator. The parties did not disclose the price; media reported about £40 million. Harvey Nichols recorded five consecutive loss-making years, including a pre-tax loss of £35.3m on roughly £204.9m of sales in 2023/24 and a later post-tax loss heavily affected by a ~£169m intercompany loan write-down. Frasers plans to restructure the store portfolio, operations and cost base and apply its technology, logistics and buying capabilities in the turnaround.
- Pre-pack acquisition completed 13 August 2026; price not disclosed (media reports ~£40m).
- Transaction transferred six UK stores, the online business, inventory, international franchise agreements and more than 1,000 employees.
- Harvey Nichols had five consecutive loss-making years, including a £35.3m pre-tax loss in 2023/24 and a later post-tax loss heavily affected by a ~£169m intercompany loan write-down.
- ·Retail-NewsM&A
Harvey Nichols Faces Collapse; Frasers Group Likely Buyer
Harvey Nichols, the British luxury department store group, is urgently seeking a buyer or fresh capital after several loss-making years and a strained liquidity position. Media reports identify Mike Ashley's Frasers Group as the favored bidder; a takeover could be executed via a UK pre-pack administration to enable a rapid sale and continuity of operations. Published accounts for the year to March 2025 show a sharp revenue decline and large impairments (Broad Gain (UK) Limited reported revenue of £69.5m and a net loss of ~£177.6m). Owner Sir Dickson Poon appointed FTI Consulting to run the sale in June 2026. Management says the company needs new financing within twelve months or faces the real risk of administration; potential restructuring could preserve flagship sites while other stores may be absorbed into Frasers brands.
- Harvey Nichols is seeking a buyer or new capital after multiple loss-making years and a strained liquidity position.
- Frasers Group, led by Mike Ashley, is widely reported as the favored bidder in the sale process.
- Broad Gain (UK) Limited reported year-to-March-2025 revenue of approximately £69.5 million and a net loss of about £177.6 million, including ~£169 million of impairments on intra-group loans.
Compare their exact ecosystem overlaps.
Explore all deep relationships in Polaris7. Discover exactly which mutual clients, integrated technologies, and overlapping partners Academy Sports + Outdoors and Frasers Group share across the market ecosystem.
